Academic Search Ultimate contains full text for more than 11,000 journals and magazines. This resource covers almost all topics, with strong content in the humanities and sciences. In addition, 60,000 videos are included from the Associated Press. This database is a great place to start most research projects.
LexisNexis Uni is a premier online source of approximately 5,600 local, national, and international news, business, legal, medical, and government information, mostly full-text and mostly from 1985 to the present. LexisNexis also has a company dossier and case law.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This database contains hundreds of newspapers published in the United States. Each article is an image of the original newspaper page, so you can see in context how the article looked to people at the time it was published. Newspapers covered include ethnic, business, agricultural and mainstream newspapers, allowing you to see how the same event was covered differently by different groups.
This database contains periodicals and magazines published in the 1700-1800s in the US. These primary resources are a great way to see what people thought of issues and events in the past. When searching, keep in mind that language changes over time - you may need to use more antiquated words to find the articles you want!
IBISWorld contains industry market research, covering industries big and small, with a depth of information you can't find anywhere else. Reports are put together by IBISWorld's expert analysts - this information is not freely available on the open web.
This database primarily contains literature and languages journal citations, with full text available for many titles. The database defaults to full-text. If you want to see all citations, uncheck the full-text box.
PrepStep contains training modules to help students learn difficult subjects at their own pace. Modules include: Career and Workplace Preparation, Core Math & Science Skills Review, Core English Skills Review, Basic Computer Skills, Placement Test Preparation, College Success Skills, and a skills center in Spanish.
Featuring premier journal content from Elsevier, this database should be your first stop for science topics. Please note that not all content is available for free in full-text. Look for Full-Text Access or Open Access articles.