OCC Library News & Events - Databases & Guides at Orange Coast College

OCC Library News & Events

Featured

Fall Book Sale! October 28th & 29th!

10/13/2025

No Subjects

The Friends of the Library (FOTL) will host their Fall Book Sale on Tuesday, October 28 and Wednesday, October 29 from 9 a.m. until 3 p.m.

A huge variety of used books will be available from bestsellers, romance, and mysteries to science, art, history, and technology. Most books sell for $1.00.

The sale will be held in the Library Lecture Room near the front entrance (room 112).

Special Sales to Know About:

Tuesday from 9-10 a.m.: is the exclusive pre-sale for FOTL members and OCC students.

Wednesday from 1-3p.m.: The last two hours of the sale on Wednesday afternoon will culminate with "$2-a-bag" .

Parking:

Although free parking is no longer available for this campus event, anyone can purchase a $5 visitors daily parking permit through this link on our Parking & Public Safety website.

If you have any questions about the FOTL book sale, please call 714-432-0202 x21058.

No Subjects

New Books - October 2025

10/06/2025

Hot Topics

The OCC Library adds new books to our collection on a weekly basis.

Visit the OCC Library's New Book Guide to see all the recent new books.

This post has no comments.

Resources Celebrating LGBTQ+ History Month

10/04/2025

Heritage Month & Recognition Days

October is LGBTQ+ History Month!

Browse through some of the highlighted books and sources celebrating the lives and experiences of LGBTQ people throughout history and today.

Visit the virtual guide or swing by the library and browse through the stacks!

This post has no comments.

Banned Books Week

10/04/2025

Hot Topics

Banned Books Week is October 5-11.

Take a study break and take a look at the banned books on display on the 2nd floor of the library. Or check out the banned books guide online!

How many banned books have you read?

This post has no comments.

Hispanic Heritage Month Displays

10/04/2025

Heritage Month & Recognition Days

September 15-October 15 is Hispanic Heritage Month. Visit the library to browse the Hispanic Heritage display on the first floor or check out the virtual guide.

Both displays highlight resources celebrating the contributions Hispanic Americans have made to the culture and history of the United States.

This post has no comments.

New Books - September 2025

09/15/2025

No Subjects

The OCC Library adds new books to our collection on a weekly basis.

Visit the OCC Library's New Book Guide to see all the recent new books.

This post has no comments.

Banff Mountain Film Festival Coming to OCC!

09/02/2025

No Subjects

The BMFF World Tour features an international selection of films that present a vast range of outdoor adventures and portraits, including climbing, mountain expeditions, remote cultures and the world’s last great wild places!

When: Wednesday, September 24 (7:00 PM)

Where: Robert B. Moore Theatre

Admission: $17 for advance tickets; $20 at the door; $10 for OCC students with current ID. Tickets are available to purchase online through our campus events page.

For a complete list of films, please visit our Friends of the Library site.

For general information, send email to cmorgan@occ.cccd.edu or call (714) 432-0202 x21058.

All proceeds benefit OCC Friends of the Library!

This post has no comments.

Fall Library Workshops

08/27/2025

No Subjects

The OCC Library offers a variety of library workshops each semester to information literacy and basic library research skills. Workshops are 60-minutes and are offered in-person and online (via Zoom).

Check with your instructor to see if they will give extra credit for attending a workshop. If you need any assistance or have questions, chat with a librarian using the icon on the lower right hand side of the screen.

Sign Up for Workshops

Sign up for online workshops at least 1 hour before the workshop. The day of the workshop, you will receive a reminder email including a link to the Zoom session. If you need the link, Chat with a Librarian (icon in lower right corner of this screen).

For in-person workshops no reservations or sign-ups are needed. You can simply come to the Library at the appointed time. If you would like a workshop reminder, sign up online.

Descriptions of Workshops

Use the links below to learn more about the details of the workshops as well as sign up.

This post has no comments.

Library Hours for the Semester

08/24/2025

No Subjects

image of the occ library and library hours

The OCC Library is open 6 days a week!

Monday - Thursday 8am - 8pm
Friday 8am - 3pm
Saturday 10am - 3pm
Sunday CLOSED

This post has no comments.

Getting Started in the Library!

08/20/2025

No Subjects

Welcome Pirates to the Fall Semester!

The OCC Library has many things to offer you: from study spaces, textbook reserves, key resources, and more! This blog introduces to some of those services and resources.

Library & Online Chat Hours:

The Library is open six days a week. Additionally, online chat with a librarian is available whenever the library is open. We have many resources and services available to help you succeed in your classes. We hope to see you soon!

Monday - Thursday: 8:00am - 8:00pm

Friday: 8am - 3:00pm

Saturday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Some key resources include:

Chromebook Loans: Visit the Circulation Desk early in the semester to check out a laptop. You may borrow the laptop for the entire semester.
Ebook Collection: You can search for e-books in our library catalog. There are thousands of ebooks available through the library. You can download sections of books, highlight & annotate, and access citation information for the book.
Print Books: Our physical collection are available to you! Start searching the library resources in OCC Discovery.
Magazine, Newspaper, & Journal Articles: Use the Databases to find magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. Get started by going to Databases A-Z, and selecting a database by the subject area you need (or pick one of our favorite general databases, like Ebsco Power Search or ProQuest Central)
Streaming Videos: The OCC Library has thousands of streaming films, documentaries, and newsreels. Get started by searching in Films on Demand or Kanopy Streaming Video.
Research Guides: Searching for resources in a specific topic area? Need to know how to cite in MLA or APA? Our collection of research guides point you to recommended resources, provide how-to info on searching and using the library, and more!
Reserve a Group Study Room: Want to collaborate with classmates? Have a group study session for a test or project? Reserve a group study room! There must be 2 or more people to use the rooms. Learn more or reserve a room!
Library Workshops: Throughout the Fall semester online library workshops are available to learn the basics of using the library. Come with your questions or just to learn more about how to conduct library research. Sign up online!
Get Help: Librarians are available online for asking questions via chat (icon in lower right hand corner) or research appointments.
Follow us on Instagram: Find us at @occ_library for info on the library, resources, and little bits of motivation.

This post has no comments.

Workshops!!

06/17/2025

No Subjects

Summer Workshops are here. read post for details.

There are two online library workshops this summer! Sign up to build your library skills in just an hour.

Research for College Papers workshop (online)
11:00am - 12:00pm, Thu Jun 26th 2025
Research for College Papers workshop (online)
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Tue Jul 1st 2025

This post has no comments.

Recent Posts

Fall Book Sale! October 28th & 29th!

The Friends of the Library (FOTL) will host their Fall Book Sale on Tuesday, October 28 and Wednesday, October 29 from 9 a.m. until 3 p.m.A huge variety of used books will be available from bestsellers, romance, and mysteries to science, art, history, and technology. Most books sell for $1.00. The sale will be held in the Library Lecture Room near the front entrance (room 112). Special Sales to Know About: Tuesday from 9-10 a.m.: is the exclusive pre-sale for FOTL members and OCC students. Wednesday from 1-3p.m.: The last two hours of the sale on Wednesday afternoon will culminate with "$2-a-bag" . Parking: Although free parking is no longer available for this campus event, anyone can purchase a $5 visitors daily parking permit through this link on our Parking & Public Safety website. If you have any questions about the FOTL book sale, please call 714-432-0202 x21058. ...

New Books - October 2025

The OCC Library adds new books to our collection on a weekly basis. Visit the OCC Library's New Book Guide to see all the recent new books. var springStats = springStats || {}; springStats.saConfig = springStats.saConfig || { site_id: 8242, tracking_parameters: {"_st_site_id":8242}, tracking_server_host: "libguides-proc.springyaws.com" }; springSpace.Common = springSpace.Common || {}; springSpace.Common.constant = {PROCESSING: {ACTION_DISPLAY_POLL: 159 }}; springSpace.Common.baseURL = "//lgapi-us.libapps.com'/"; springSpace.Common.apiLoad = true; springshare_widget_config_1759610031279 = { path: 'boxes/35042294', link_text: 'Content Box' }; !function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+"://lgapi-us.libapps.com/widgets.php?site_id=8242&widget_type=8&output_format=1&widget_title=oct2025a&widget_height=250&widget_width=100%25&widget_embed_type=1&guide_id=1425577&box_id=35042294&map_id=41232980&content_only=0&include_jquery=0&config_id=1759610031279";fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,"script","s-lg-widget-script-1759610031279"); var springStats = springStats || {}; springStats.saConfig = springStats.saConfig || { site_id: 8242, tracking_parameters: {"_st_site_id":8242}, tracking_server_host: "libguides-proc.springyaws.com" }; springSpace.Common = springSpace.Common || {}; springSpace.Common.constant = {PROCESSING: {ACTION_DISPLAY_POLL: 159 }}; springSpace.Common.baseURL = "//lgapi-us.libapps.com'/"; springSpace.Common.apiLoad = true; springshare_widget_config_1759610031279 = { path: 'boxes/35042294', link_text: 'Content Box' }; var springStats = springStats || {}; springStats.saConfig = springStats.saConfig || { site_id: 8242, tracking_parameters: {"_st_site_id":8242}, tracking_server_host: "libguides-proc.springyaws.com" }; springSpace.Common = springSpace.Common || {}; springSpace.Common.constant = {PROCESSING: {ACTION_DISPLAY_POLL: 159 }}; springSpace.Common.baseURL = "//lgapi-us.libapps.com'/"; springSpace.Common.apiLoad = true; springshare_widget_config_1759610231287 = { path: 'boxes/35042307', link_text: 'Content Box' }; !function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+"://lgapi-us.libapps.com/widgets.php?site_id=8242&widget_type=8&output_format=1&widget_title=oct25b&widget_height=250&widget_width=100%25&widget_embed_type=1&guide_id=1425577&box_id=35042307&map_id=41233006&content_only=0&include_jquery=0&config_id=1759610231287";fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,"script","s-lg-widget-script-1759610231287");!function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+"://lgapi-us.libapps.com/widgets.php?site_id=8242&widget_type=8&output_format=1&widget_title=oct2025a&widget_height=250&widget_width=100%25&widget_embed_type=1&guide_id=1425577&box_id=35042294&map_id=41232980&content_only=0&include_jquery=0&config_id=1759610031279";fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,"script","s-lg-widget-script-1759610031279"); var springStats = springStats || {}; springStats.saConfig = springStats.saConfig || { site_id: 8242, tracking_parameters: {"_st_site_id":8242}, tracking_server_host: "libguides-proc.springyaws.com" }; springSpace.Common = springSpace.Common || {}; springSpace.Common.constant = {PROCESSING: {ACTION_DISPLAY_POLL: 159 }}; springSpace.Common.baseURL = "//lgapi-us.libapps.com'/"; springSpace.Common.apiLoad = true; springshare_widget_config_1759610062627 = { path: 'boxes/35042310', link_text: 'Content Box' }; !function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+"://lgapi-us.libapps.com/widgets.php?site_id=8242&widget_type=8&output_format=1&widget_title=oct25c&widget_height=250&widget_width=100%25&widget_embed_type=1&guide_id=1425577&box_id=35042310&map_id=41233009&content_only=0&include_jquery=0&config_id=1759610062627";fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,"script","s-lg-widget-script-1759610062627");...

Resources Celebrating LGBTQ+ History Month

October is LGBTQ+ History Month! Browse through some of the highlighted books and sources celebrating the lives and experiences of LGBTQ people throughout history and today. Visit the virtual guide or swing by the library and browse through the stacks! var springStats = springStats || {}; springStats.saConfig = springStats.saConfig || { site_id: 8242, tracking_parameters: {"_st_site_id":8242}, tracking_server_host: "libguides-proc.springyaws.com" }; springSpace.Common = springSpace.Common || {}; springSpace.Common.constant = {PROCESSING: {ACTION_DISPLAY_POLL: 159 }}; springSpace.Common.baseURL = "//lgapi-us.libapps.com'/"; springSpace.Common.apiLoad = true; springshare_widget_config_1759606628139 = { path: 'boxes/35071246', link_text: 'Content Box' }; !function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+"://lgapi-us.libapps.com/widgets.php?site_id=8242&widget_type=8&output_format=1&widget_title=banner&widget_height=250&widget_width=100%25&widget_embed_type=1&guide_id=1268301&box_id=35071246&map_id=41269364&content_only=0&include_jquery=0&config_id=1759606628139";fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,"script","s-lg-widget-script-1759606628139"); var springStats = springStats || {}; springStats.saConfig = springStats.saConfig || { site_id: 8242, tracking_parameters: {"_st_site_id":8242}, tracking_server_host: "libguides-proc.springyaws.com" }; springSpace.Common = springSpace.Common || {}; springSpace.Common.constant = {PROCESSING: {ACTION_DISPLAY_POLL: 159 }}; springSpace.Common.baseURL = "//lgapi-us.libapps.com'/"; springSpace.Common.apiLoad = true; springshare_widget_config_1759606880885 = { path: 'boxes/29433352', link_text: 'Content Box' }; !function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+"://lgapi-us.libapps.com/widgets.php?site_id=8242&widget_type=8&output_format=1&widget_title=LGBTQIA%2B+Month+Overview&widget_height=250&widget_width=100%25&widget_embed_type=1&guide_id=1268301&box_id=29433352&map_id=34630786&content_only=0&include_jquery=0&config_id=1759606880885";fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,"script","s-lg-widget-script-1759606880885");...

Banned Books Week

Banned Books Week is October 5-11. Take a study break and take a look at the banned books on display on the 2nd floor of the library. Or check out the banned books guide online! How many banned books have you read? ...

Name (Optional)

Comment

Placeholder for captcha question