Orange Coast College logo

OCC Library News & Events

Showing 3 of 3 Results

Spring 2023 at the Library!
01/30/2023
profile-icon Erin Gratz
No Subjects
The Library is open six days a week.  Additionally, online chat with a librarian is available whenever the library is open. We have many resources and services available to help you succeed in your classes.  We hope to see you soon!Image of the OCC Library with text: Spring '23 @ the Library and library hours.
Library & Online Chat Hours: 
Monday - Thursday: 8:00am - 8:00pm 
Friday: 8am - 3:00pm
Saturday:  10:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday: CLOSED
Some key resources include: 
  • Ebook Collection:  You can search for e-books in our library catalog.  There are thousands of ebooks available through the library. You can download sections of books, highlight & annotate, and access citation information for the book. 
  • Print Books: Our physical collection are available to you! Start searching the library resources in OCC Discovery. 
  • Magazine, Newspaper, & Journal Articles: Use the Databases to find magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. Get started by going to Databases A-Z, and selecting a database by the subject area you need (or pick one of our favorite general databases, like Ebsco Power Search or ProQuest Central)
  • Streaming Videos: The OCC Library has thousands of streaming films, documentaries, and newsreels.  Get started by searching in Films on Demand or Kanopy Streaming Video. 
  • Research Guides: Searching for resources in a specific topic area? Need to know how to cite in MLA or APA? Our collection of research guides point you to recommended resources, provide how-to info on searching and using the library, and more! 
  • Library Workshops: Throughout the Fall semester online library workshops are available to learn the basics of using the library.  Come with your questions or just to learn more about how to conduct library research. Sign up online! 
  • Get Help: Librarians are available online for asking questions via chat (icon in lower right hand corner) or research appointments. 
  • Follow us on Instagram: Find us at @occ_library for info on the library, resources, and little bits of motivation. 

 

This post has no comments.
Library Workshops during Intersession
01/03/2023
profile-icon Erin Gratz
No Subjects

Image of library study area in a bluegreen. Includes QR code to sign ups and more information. Text within the blog. There are two Research for College Papers workshops being offered during Intersession.  Both of the workshops will be held online via zoom.  Reserve your spot online.  The zoom link will be emailed out 1-hour before the workshops.  Check with your professor for extra credit possibilities. 

Workshop Dates: 

Thursday, 1/12, 11am - 12pm 

Tuesday, 1/17, 3 - 4pm

 

Workshop Description: 

These 60 minute extra-credit workshops, held in the library's lecture room, will teach library and information research skills using print and electronic resources. They will also introduce the library's services and resources. Student will learn to identify and access the various library and information resources; to identify scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals; to search discipline-specific and advanced electronic resources; to do research on the web; to evaluate search results for credible resources; to cite their sources in either MLA or APA styles; and to understand how the proper use and citation of library and information resources helps avoid plagiarism.

 

This post has no comments.
Library Hours During Intersession
01/02/2023
profile-icon Erin Gratz
No Subjects

Image of snowflake and snow. Text: OCC Library Intersession Hours Monday - Thursday 12 pm - 4pm, January 3-26, 2023. During Intersession (1/3 -1/27), the OCC Library is open.  

The library hours are: 

Monday-Thursday 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Friday, Saturday, Sunday: CLOSED

This post has no comments.
Provided email address is invalid.
Field is required.
Field is required.

Orange Coast College Library | 2701 Fairview Road Costa Mesa, CA 92626 | (714) 432-5885