OCC Library News & Events

Friends of the Library Spring 2023 Book Sale! April 25 & 26

04/11/2023

Erin Gratz

No Subjects

Book Sale Flyer The Friends of the Library will host a spring book sale on Tuesday, April 25 and Wednesday, April 26. Tuesday hours will be 9:00-10:00am for FOTL members and 10:00am-3:00pm for everyone. Wednesday hours will be 9:00am-3:00pm. The last two hours of the sale on Wednesday afternoon will culminate with "2 dollars a bag" (1:00-3:00pm). A variety of books will be available from bestsellers, romance, and mysteries to science, art, history and technology. Most books sell for $1.00. Anyone may join the Friends of the Library prior to the book sale to take advantage of the one hour "pre-sale" exclusive for Friends members. The sale will be held in the Library Lecture Room near the front entrance (room 112).

This post has no comments.

Tools to Help You Find Articles

04/03/2023

Erin Gratz

No Subjects

The OCC Library has three new tools to assist you in finding scholarly articles more easily!

LibKey

LibKey lets you search our articles using a DOI or PMID. What does this mean for you? If you have a citation of an article you want to read, you can use the DOI or PMID that is listed in the citation to find whether the OCC Library has access to the article and if so, what database it is located in and a direct link to the article.

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad takes connecting to articles available through the OCC Library even more simple. LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects you to articles from websites like Wikipedia, PubMed, and publishers websites. It will help you find whether OCC Library has the article and if so, will like you to the article.

The browser extension is for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Brave, and Vivaldi browsers.

The library subscribes to this service and the browser extension is safe to download.

Browzine

Browzine gives you a whole new way to search for journals! If you want to discover...or browse...for journals within a specific subject area, Browzine is a great way to do that. Browzine then directly links to the articles.

Note: this resource does not search all periodicals within the OCC Library. It highlights our scholarly journals in particular.

This post has no comments.

Recent Posts

Banff Mountain Film Festival Coming to OCC!

The BMFF World Tour features an international selection of films that present a vast range of outdoor adventures and portraits, including climbing, mountain expeditions, remote cultures and the world’s last great wild places!When: Wednesday, September 24 (7:00 PM) Where: Robert B. Moore TheatreAdmission: $17 for advance tickets; $20 at the door; $10 for OCC students with current ID. Tickets are available to purchase online through our campus events page.For a complete list of films, please visit our Friends of the Library site. For general information, send email to cmorgan@occ.cccd.edu or call (714) 432-0202 x21058. All proceeds benefit OCC Friends of the Library!...

Fall Library Workshops

The OCC Library offers a variety of library workshops each semester to information literacy and basic library research skills. Workshops are 60-minutes and are offered in-person and online (via Zoom).Check with your instructor to see if they will give extra credit for attending a workshop. If you need any assistance or have questions, chat with a librarian using the icon on the lower right hand side of the screen. Sign Up for WorkshopsSign up for online workshops at least 1 hour before the workshop. The day of the workshop, you will receive a reminder email including a link to the Zoom session. If you need the link, Chat with a Librarian (icon in lower right corner of this screen). For in-person workshops no reservations or sign-ups are needed. You can simply come to the Library at the appointed time. If you would like a workshop reminder, sign up online. Descriptions of WorkshopsUse the links below to learn more about the details of the workshops as well as sign up. ...

Library Hours for the Semester

The OCC Library is open 6 days a week! Monday - Thursday 8am - 8pm Friday 8am - 3pm Saturday 10am - 3pm Sunday CLOSED ...

Getting Started in the Library!

Welcome Pirates to the Fall Semester!The OCC Library has many things to offer you: from study spaces, textbook reserves, key resources, and more! This blog introduces to some of those services and resources. Library & Online Chat Hours: The Library is open six days a week. Additionally, online chat with a librarian is available whenever the library is open. We have many resources and services available to help you succeed in your classes. We hope to see you soon! Monday - Thursday: 8:00am - 8:00pm Friday: 8am - 3:00pmSaturday: 10:00am - 3:00pmSunday: CLOSED Some key resources include: Chromebook Loans: Visit the Circulation Desk early in the semester to check out a laptop. You may borrow the laptop for the entire semester. Ebook Collection: You can search for e-books in our library catalog. There are thousands of ebooks available through the library. You can download sections of books, highlight & annotate, and access citation information for the book. Print Books: Our physical collection are available to you! Start searching the library resources in OCC Discovery. Magazine, Newspaper, & Journal Articles: Use the Databases to find magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. Get started by going to Databases A-Z, and selecting a database by the subject area you need (or pick one of our favorite general databases, like Ebsco Power Search or ProQuest Central)Streaming Videos: The OCC Library has thousands of streaming films, documentaries, and newsreels. Get started by searching in Films on Demand or Kanopy Streaming Video. Research Guides: Searching for resources in a specific topic area? Need to know how to cite in MLA or APA? Our collection of research guides point you to recommended resources, provide how-to info on searching and using the library, and more! Reserve a Group Study Room: Want to collaborate with classmates? Have a group study session for a test or project? Reserve a group study room! There must be 2 or more people to use the rooms. Learn more or reserve a room! Library Workshops: Throughout the Fall semester online library workshops are available to learn the basics of using the library. Come with your questions or just to learn more about how to conduct library research. Sign up online! Get Help: Librarians are available online for asking questions via chat (icon in lower right hand corner) or research appointments. Follow us on Instagram: Find us at @occ_library for info on the library, resources, and little bits of motivation. ...

Name (Optional)

Email

Comment

Placeholder for captcha question

Orange Coast College Library | 2701 Fairview Road Costa Mesa, CA 92626 | (714) 432-5885