Databases & Guides: Art: Architecture

Best Databases & Websites for Visual Arts

JSTOR
JSTOR contains journal articles in various academic disciplines. Not all content is available full-text so it is recommended to choose the option of searching only content you have access to.
Arts & Humanities Database
This database provides "online access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more. Arts & Humanities Database titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies."

Wkimedia Commons
Contains thousands of images available for use. They have several different licenses attached that may be attached to a give image.
Google Arts an Culture
"Google Arts & Culture is a non-commercial initiative. We work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Together, our mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere." from website

Architecture

Books in the section on architecture cover the design and style of building and other structures. If you are interested in the construction process, look under "Buildings"

Colonial house, Rua Tristão Mariano 175, Bosque da Saúde, São Paulo, Brazil

Finding Books and Articles in the Catalog

Search under:

Architecture

<building type> architecture

Hospital architecture
Library architecture
Pub architecture

Architectural features

Colonnades
Entrance halls
Obelisks

<Characterist> in architecture

Color in architecture
Grotesque in architecture
Light in architecture

This is a small sampling of subject headings in our catalog. As always, the OCC librarians are ready to help you find the best resources for your specific needs.

Moroccan Architecture. Photo by Saralamphotography.

Finding Books on the Shelf

Books on architecture will generally be in the NA section.

General works: NA100

Preservation and restoration of architectural monuments:NA105-112

Examination and licensing of architects: NA120-130

History: NA190-689 (by time period)

Architecture of individual countries NA701-1614

Oxyman / Wembley Stadium Arch, Western Pier

Sample Books in our Collection

Architecture by Jonathan Glancey
Call Number: NA200 .G536 2017

ISBN: 9781465464682

Publication Date: 2017-11-21

Architecture tells the story of the world's most incredible buildings, from the ancient world to the present day.
Architecture and the urban environment : a vision for the new age by Thomas, Derek.
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9786611013905

Publication Date: 2002

This well illustrated text forms a critical appraisal of the place and direction of architecture and urban design in a new world order at the start of the 21st century.
Architecture inside + out : 50 iconic buildings in detail by Zukowsky, John, 1948- author.; Polley, Robbie, author.
Call Number: NA2750 .Z85 2018

ISBN: 9780500343371

Publication Date: 2018

Encompassing ancient palaces and glorious cathedrals, futuristic homes and striking skyscrapers, 'Architecture Inside + Out' examines fifty of the world's most impressive buildings and uncovers their structural secrets.
The Architecture of Disability by David Gissen
Call Number: NA2500 .G47 2022

ISBN: 9781517912505

Publication Date: 2023-01-24

Envisioning an architectural design that fully integrates disabled persons into its production, it advocates for looking beyond traditional notions of accessibility and shows how certain incapacities can help to positively reimagine the roots of architecture