The OCC Library adds new books to our collection on a weekly basis.
Take a look at our most recent additions. This list will update throughout the month as new books are added.
09/17/2024
Erin Gratz
No Subjects
The simplest way to search for scholarly articles in the OCC Library is to start at Databases A-Z list.
This is probably THE BEST first stop. Why? You can select the database best for you paper's topic, limit to peer-reviewed articles, and you know that you will be able to access the full-text of the article freely.
Once you get to the Databases A-Z list, choose one of our Popular Databases, listed on the right hand side, or use the Subject Dropdown for recommendations of the best databases to use in a subject area.
There are many other ways to find scholarly articles. The following are tools available through the library:
Browser Add-on: LibKey Nomad
Add this add-on to your favorite browser and when there are scholarly websites reference on the website there will be an icon linking you to the full-text article within the OCC Library's collection. Do this now...and then you can forget about it...then be surprised when you need it in the future!
More info: Makes connecting to articles available through the OCC Library even more simple. This is a browser extension that connects you to articles from websites like Wikipedia, PubMed, and publishers websites. It will help you find whether OCC Library has the article and if so, will like you to the article. The browser extension is for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Brave, and Vivaldi browsers. The library subscribes to this service and the browser extension is safe to download.
Search by DOI: LibKey
LibKey lets you search our articles using a DOI or PMID. What does this mean for you? If you have a citation of an article you want to read, you can use the DOI or PMID that is listed in the citation to find whether the OCC Library has access to the article and if so, what database it is located in and a direct link to the article.
Browzine
Browzine let's you browse the OCC Library's online journal collection. The journals here are all scholarly journals. You can select your subject area, then narrow by sub-areas within the discipline to look through journal titles and browse individual issues.
09/10/2024
Erin Gratz
No Subjects
The BMFF World Tour features an international selection of films that present a vast range of outdoor adventures and portraits, including climbing, mountain expeditions, remote cultures and the world’s last great wild places!
When: Wednesday, September 25 at 7:00 PM
Where: Robert B. Moore Theatre
Admission: $16 for advance tickets; $20 at the door; $10 for OCC students with current ID. Tickets are available to purchase online through our campus events page:
For more information, read through the complete list of films or check out the 2024 BMFF World Tour video preview.
For general information, send email to cmorgan@occ.cccd.edu or call (714) 432-0202 x21058. Free parking will be available in OCC lots C and D near the Robert B. Moore Theatre.
All proceeds benefit OCC Friends of the Library!
When: Tuesday, October 22 and Wednesday, October 23 from 9 a.m. until 3 p.m.
9-10 a.m. on Tuesday will offer a pre-sale exclusive for FOTL members and OCC students.
What books will be available? A huge variety of used books will be available from bestsellers, romance, and mysteries to science, art, history and technology.
How much do the books cost? Most books sell for $1.00. The last two hours of the sale on Wednesday afternoon will culminate with "$2-a-bag" (1-3 p.m.).
Where? The sale will be held in the Library Lecture Room near the front entrance (room 112).
What about parking? Although free parking is no longer available for this campus event, anyone can purchase a permit at the electronic kiosk near the library in Lot E.
For questions or more information, please call 714-432-0202 x21058 for details.
All proceeds support the OCC Friends of the Library!