Scholarly Articles - GNDR A100 - Dr. Alabi - Databases & Guides at Orange Coast College

Tips for Searching Scholarly Articles

Search for the major concepts or ideas in your research topic. For example, if you are researching a demographic and unique social phenomenon, you might search: demographic AND unique phenomenon. This will give you more targeted results. For example, women AND "reproductive rights". Another example, bisexual* AND "romantic relationships".
Make sure to check Peer- Reviewed. This will ensure you are seeing the results for scholarly articles.
Copy the APA citation and paste into a slide. Do this if there is a possibility you will use the source. You can always delete the citation if you end up not using it. This is easier than having to go back and find the citation.

Helpful tricks:
Using AND (in all caps) will connect the search terms you are using
Using "quotations around a phrase" will indicate that you want to search those words in that specific order
Using an asterisk at the end of the word (for example, bisexual*) will search for all alternate endings of the term. This example would also search bisexuals, bisexuality.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO (from Ebsco) is an abstract and citation database of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. It provides scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health, and in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. The database contains more than 560 full-text journals.
Proquest Central
This is a good place to start your research. Proquest Central has an ample amount of articles for most subjects. This database mostly has articles from magazines, newspapers, and journals.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate contains full text for more than 11,000 journals and magazines. This resource covers almost all topics, with strong content in the humanities and sciences. In addition, 60,000 videos are included from the Associated Press. This database is a great place to start most research projects.

This search box will allow you to search OCC Discovery for articles. It includes articles from most library databases.