Databases & Guides: Art: Drawing.

Best Databases & Websites for Visual Arts

JSTOR
JSTOR contains journal articles in various academic disciplines. Not all content is available full-text so it is recommended to choose the option of searching only content you have access to.
Arts & Humanities Database
This database provides "online access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more. Arts & Humanities Database titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies."

Wkimedia Commons
Contains thousands of images available for use. They have several different licenses attached that may be attached to a give image.
Google Arts an Culture
"Google Arts & Culture is a non-commercial initiative. We work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Together, our mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere." from website

Drawing.

Drawing is a two dimensional art form generally created by lines using a dry material such as pencil, pen, or crayons. It can be done as a preliminary step to another piece or as a finished product on its own.

Finding books and resources in the catalog

Finding resources in the catalog. Search for subjects like:

Drawing
<media> drawing
- Chalk drawing
- Computer drawing
- Pastel drawing
- Pen drawing
<subject being drawn> drawing
- Figure drawing
- Fashion drawing
- Geometric drawing
<function> drawing
- Engineering drawing
- Map drawing
- Mechanical drawing
Related techniques
- Caricature
- Doodles
- Rubbing

This is a small sampling of subject headings in our catalog. As always, the OCC librarians are ready to help you find the best resources for your specific needs.

Finding Books on the Shelf

Most works on painting will be found in the NC section.

History: NC50-96
Individual biographies and history of country-specific movements: NC101-377
Study and teaching: NC390-758
Special subjects (Technique, history and collections)
- Human anatomy NC760-778
- Animals NC780-783
- Action in art NC785-787
- Landscape NC790-800
- Trees. Plants. Flowers NC805-810
- Marine drawing NC817
- Other subjects NC825
Graphic art materials NC845-902
Illustration NC960

Dane Chanase, Continuity, a mural study

Sample Books in our Collection

Figure It Out! Drawing Essential Poses by Christopher Hart
Call Number: NC765 .H187 2016

ISBN: 9781936096992

Publication Date: 2016-07-19

"Bestselling how-to-draw author Christopher Hart helps artists fine-tune their skills with the fundamentals of drawing natural-looking figures.
The Laws Guide to Drawing Birds by John Muir Laws; David Allen Sibley (Foreword by)
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781597141956

Publication Date: 2015-04-01

This how-to guide will perfect the technique of serious arists but also, perhaps more importantly, it will provide guidance for those who insist they can?t draw.
Illustrating fashion : concept to creation by Stipelman, Steven,
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 1501322958

Publication Date: 2017

This textbook provides a step-by-step approach to drawing the basic fashion figure, identifying the elements of a garment, and discussing the various techniques used to render fashion illustration.
Debt-Free Art Degree: Foundations in Drawing by Marco Bucci
Call Number: NC730 .B77 2025

ISBN: 9780760391600

Publication Date: 2025

The 2D world of shapes -- Abstract art plays a part: gesture drawing -- The 3D world of form and space -- Building the figure -- Capturing poses, shapes, and character -- Constructing the head -- Shading and lighting -- Color doesn't have to be scary!