Databases & Guides: Art: Painting

Best Databases & Websites for Visual Arts

JSTOR
JSTOR contains journal articles in various academic disciplines. Not all content is available full-text so it is recommended to choose the option of searching only content you have access to.
Arts & Humanities Database
This database provides "online access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more. Arts & Humanities Database titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies."

Wkimedia Commons
Contains thousands of images available for use. They have several different licenses attached that may be attached to a give image.
Google Arts an Culture
"Google Arts & Culture is a non-commercial initiative. We work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Together, our mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere." from website

Finding Books on the Shelf

Most works on painting will be found in the ND section.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias: ND30-31
Biography of groups of painters: ND34-38
History: ND49-1114
Individual biographies and history of country-specific movements: ND201-1114
- ND201-439 America
- ND450-955 Europe
- ND958 Mediterranean Region
- ND960-1072.72 Asia. The Orient
- ND1075 Islamic countries
- ND1080-1099 Africa
- ND1099.4-.5 Indian Ocean islands
- ND1099.6 Southern Hemisphere
- ND1099.7-1113 Australasia. Pacific Area
- ND1114 Developing countries
Study and teaching: ND1115-1120

Painting

Finding resources in the catalog. Search for subjects like:

Painting
<material being painted> painting
- Panel painting
- Screen painting
- Stone painting
<ethnic group> painting
- Islamic painting
- Jesuit painting
- Taoist painting
<subject of painting> painting
- Portrait painting
- Still-lfe painting
<media> painting
- Ink painting
- Soot painting
- Watercolor
Painters
Paint

This is a small sampling of subject headings in our catalog. As always, the OCC librarians are ready to help you find the best resources for your specific needs.

Images on right:

"Children on the Beach" by Mary Cassatt, 1884

Minhwa Deer and Turtle

"Codes" abstract watercolor painting by Bruce Black, 2020

Sample Books in our Collection

Painting Harlem Modern by Patricia Hills
Call Number: Circulating Books (2nd Floor) ; ND237.L29 H55 2019

ISBN: 9780520305502

Publication Date: 2019-02-16

"Jacob Lawrence was one of the best-known African American artists of the twentieth century. In Painting Harlem Modern, Patricia Hills renders a vivid assessment of Lawrence's long and productive career." Publisher website
Painting Katrina by Phil Sandusky (Artist)
Call Number: Circulating Books (2nd Floor) ; ND237.S277 A4 2007

ISBN: 9781589804777

Publication Date: 2007-08-10

"The book contains color reproductions of seventy-six of Sandusky's paintings: thirty created a year before Katrina, depicting New Orleans in better times; thirty in the immediate aftermath of the storm, focusing primarily on scenes of devastation at the lakefront and the Lower Ninth Ward; and the last sixteen painted approximately one year after Katrina"
Painting Now by Suzanne Hudson
Call Number: Circulating Books (2nd Floor) ; ND195 .H83 2015

ISBN: 9780500239261

Publication Date: 2015-03-10

In Painting Now, renowned critic and art historian Suzanne Hudson offers an intelligent and original survey of contemporary painting--a critical snapshot that brings together more than 200 artists from around the world whose work is defining the ideas and aesthetics that characterize the painting of our time.
Painting watercolours on canvas by Chaderton, Liz, author.
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781785005909

Publication Date: 2019

Painting on canvas poses many exciting opportunities for the artist. Along with the immediacy, vibrancy and unpredictability of watercolours, it is a liberating and creative process. This practical book explains how to start painting with watercolours on canvas and goes on to encourage new style and experimentation. It gives step-by-step demonstrations on different techniques to achieve loose, dynamic images.