Databases & Guides: Sociology Research: Finding Articles

Searching for Articles

Go to Databases A-Z or go to one of the databases suggested on the right.
Select "Social Sciences" from the Subject Dropdown or select the database you want to search in
Identify your keywords! And start searching!

Key Sociology Journals

These links take you to the electronic journals. You can search within the journal or browse by date and issue. You can find many more journals in the BrowZine Scholarly Journal Room (see the box on the far right)

Specialized Databases

Criminal Justice Database
Search here for topics on crime, its causes and impacts, crime trends, and social implications.
Social Science Database
Search here for articles in the areas of anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociology Database
Search here for topics in sociology and social work.

General Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate contains full text for more than 11,000 journals and magazines. This resource covers almost all topics, with strong content in the humanities and sciences. In addition, 60,000 videos are included from the Associated Press. This database is a great place to start most research projects.
JSTOR
JSTOR contains journal articles in various academic disciplines. Not all content is available full-text so it is recommended to choose the option of searching only content you have access to.
Proquest Central
This is a good place to start your research. Proquest Central has an ample amount of articles for most subjects. This database mostly has articles from magazines, newspapers, and journals.

Sociology Research: Finding Articles

Searching for Articles

Key Sociology Journals

Specialized Databases

General Databases

Explore BrowZine - OCC's Scholarly Journals