Why use the library versus your favorite search engine?
There are MANY reasons to use the library instead of your favorite search engine for your college assignments. Here are just a couple:
- For college assignments, you want to make sure the sources you use are credible. The library is full of credible sources written and published by who are experts in their fields. Search engines are amazing resources, however anyone can post a webpage whether or not they are an expert. (Later in this guide we'll talk about ways to evaluate websites and information) Using the library helps to ensure you are accessing credible information.
- The open web contains incredible amounts of information. Yet, not all of that information is freely available. Sometimes you are asked to pay $30 or $40 for an article -- when you are writing a paper, those costs could really build up! The OCC Library subscribes to a wide range of magazines, journals, books, and films so that you, as an OCC student, can access these freely. Think of it like Netflix (or other streaming service)...there are millions of movies and tv shows in existence, with your subscription to Netflix you have access to some of those shows. With the library, we pay for your subscriptions!
Key Resources and Services:
The Library contains much more than just books! Here are some of the resources and services that are available:
- A Place to Study: The library is a great place to study! There are a variety of types of seating (comfy chairs, tables and chairs, desks), and a large computer lab.
- Ebook Collection: You can search for e-books in our library catalog. There are thousands of ebooks available through the library. You can download sections of books, highlight & annotate, and access citation information for the book.
- Print Books: Search for book in our library catalog. There are academic books, and also we have a large Bestsellers collection. During the partial reopening of the library, you can come and pick up books at the library during our reduced hours.
- Magazine, Newspaper, & Journal Articles: Use the Databases to find magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. Get started by going to Databases A-Z, and selecting a database by the subject area you need (or pick one of our favorite general databases, like Ebsco Power Search or ProQuest Central)
- Streaming Videos: The OCC Library has thousands of streaming films, documentaries, and newsreels. Get started by searching in Films on Demand or Kanopy Streaming Video.
- Library Workshops: Throughout each semester, library workshops are available to learn the basics of using the library. Come with your questions or just to learn more about how to conduct library research. These are great opportunities to ask your research questions. Find dates and sign up online!
- Get Help: Librarians are available online for asking questions via chat (icon in lower right hand corner) or research appointments
- Follow us on Instagram: Find us at @occ_library for info on the library, resources, and little bits of motivation.
Library Hours
The library is open:
Monday-Thursday 8am-8pm
Friday 8am - 3pm
Saturday 10am-3pm
Getting Help!
Ask a librarian for research help before you get frustrated! There are a few ways you can get help:
Reference Desk in the Library: A librarian is available at the Reference Desk any time the library is open. Stop by and get help!
Online Chat: Librarians are online any time the librarian is open. Look for the chat icon in the bottom right corner of the library webpages.
Research Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian to help you get started with your library research!
After you finish with this video, go to the next tab: Before You Search
