Skip to Main Content

OCC Library Blog

Searching for Scholarly Articles

by Erin Gratz on 2024-03-06T16:33:19-08:00 | 0 Comments

Search for articles. Start with a database with many subject areas like ProQuest Central or Ebsco Power Search

The simplest way to search for scholarly articles in the OCC Library is to start at Databases A-Z list.

This is probably THE BEST first stop. Why? You can select the database best for you paper's topic, limit to peer-reviewed articles, and you know that you will be able to access the full-text of the article freely.

Need articles in a specific subject area? Search the subject dropdown list.

Once you get to the Databases A-Z list, choose one of our Popular Databases, listed on the right hand side, or use the Subject Dropdown for recommendations of the best databases to use in a subject area. 

There are many other ways to find scholarly articles.  The following are tools available through the library: 

 

 

Browser Add-on: LibKey NomadSearching for Articles?  Download Libkey Nomad at libkey.io

Add this add-on to your favorite browser and when there are scholarly websites reference on the website there will be an icon linking you to the full-text article within the OCC Library's collection. Do this now...and then you can forget about it...then be surprised when you need it in the future! 

More info: Makes connecting to articles available through the OCC Library even more simple. This is a browser extension that connects you to articles from websites like Wikipedia, PubMed, and publishers websites. It will help you find whether OCC Library has the article and if so, will like you to the article. The browser extension is for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Brave, and Vivaldi browsers.  The library subscribes to this service and the browser extension is safe to download. 

More about Libkey

 

Search by DOI: LibKey

LibKey lets you search our articles using a DOI or PMID. What does this mean for you? If you have a citation of an article you want to read, you can use the DOI or PMID that is listed in the citation to find whether the OCC Library has access to the article and if so, what database it is located in and a direct link to the article.

 

Browzine

Browzine let's you browse the OCC Library's online journal collection.  The journals here are all scholarly journals.  You can select your subject area, then narrow by sub-areas within the discipline to look through journal titles and browse individual issues.  

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Recent Posts



CLOSED until June 10th!
Things to Know about the Library at the End of the Semester
Searching for Scholarly Articles
Databases A-Z, LibKey, LibKey Nomad, and Browzine
Upcoming Library Workshops
Build library research skills through a variety of library workshops.
Reserve a Group Study Room
Reserve a study room online!

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...