Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books at the OCC Library
Ebsco's eBooks provides electronic full-text copies of over 19,000 published print materials, such as reference books, scholarly monographs, fiction, and nonfiction books.
This set of eBooks covers many topics, but is particularly strong in literature, religion and history. Many books in the Bloom's series are available, as well the texts of sacred works. This site also has many career guides.
Springer's eBooks provides electronic full-text copies of over 12,000 published print materials, such as reference and scholarly books. These books are available to download in PDF format, with no DRM.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This site provides electronic full-text copies of several multi-volume reference and scholarly books. Titles cover history, business, literature and more.
Oxford Reference Books
A collection of reference books from Oxford publishing.
The Salem Press site allows you to access online certain reference books from the library's collection. Some of the titles included are Magill's Medical Guide, The Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Great Events from History, Careers in..., Critical Survey..., and The Encyclopedia of Global Warming.
Find Books in Other Libraries
Library of Congress Call Number Classification
The materials in the OCC Library are organized by the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System so that materials on similar subjects are shelved together. Each item is given a subject heading that corresponds to a call number which identifies the location of the item on a shelf.
Items are arranged on the shelves from left to right, top to bottom, according to call numbers. Call numbers are read in this format:
How to Use Books for College Research