Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Music Resources
Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard University)
The research guide from Harvard's Loeb Music Library, with many free resources covering musicology, music theory, composition, ethnomusicology, and more.
MusRef (Brigham Young University)
MusRef, a portal from the music library at Brigham Young University, includes an online bibliography of reference sources for music, both print and online, as well as guides for getting started with music reference sources. This site includes a huge collection of links to the vast world of freely available information about music on the web.
Digital Resources for Musicology (DRM)
A portal to open-access projects that may be of use to musicians and musicologists.
Petrucci Music Library - International Music Score Library Project
A collection of musical scores and recordings in the public domain.
American Memory: Performing Arts, Music
Digitized multimedia resources from the Library of Congress: historical sound recordings, sheet music, images, and more
New York Public Library Digital Collections: Music Division
One of the world's preeminent music collections, documenting the art of music in all its diversity
Library of Congress - Performing Arts Encyclopedia
Music, theater, and dance at the Library of Congress
FreeSound is a database of browsable, downloadable sounds under a Creative Commons License.
Partners in Rhyme
Royalty-free sound effects.
BBC Sound Effects
16,000 BBC Sound Effects are made available by the BBC in WAV format to download for personal, educational or research purposes. (Commercial uses require a license.)
Sound Bible--Royalty Free Sounds
SoundBible.com offers free sound clips for download in either wav or mp3 format. The clips on the linked page are royalty-free (please note that clips elsewhere on the site may not be royalty-free).