Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Articles
To Get Started Searching for Music Articles:
- Select one of the recommended databases listed on this page.
- From the library homepage, Click Databases A-Z from the menu.
- Then select a database to search. Some ways to identify your best bet databases are to go to the Popular Database list or use the Subject dropdown at the top left of the page.
- Once in the database, search by your keywords. For more on identifying keywords, watch the video below.
Recommended Databases for Topics in Music:
JSTOR contains journal articles for a variety of academic disciplines. It also contains a large number of music journals, such as Ethnomusicology, American Music, College Music Symposium, and many more.
This is a great place to start music research. This databases contains a wide range of scholarly, popular, and trade publications in music.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is a general database containing articles across the humanities and sciences. It also contains a robust collection of music journals. This is a great place to start your music research!
Open Access Journals
- Enthnomusicology Review
A student-run journal on topics related to musical practice. Articles are written from a variety of disciplinary perspectives including ethnomusicology, musicology, anthropology, sociology and cultural studies.
- Empirical Musicology Review
An open access peer-reviewed music journal.
- The Journal of Music and Meaning
A peer-reviewed journal for multidisciplinary research on music and meaning.
- Music and Practice
A peer-reviewed online journal dedicated to the study of practices in music.
- Sound Effects
An international, interdisciplinary journal of sound and sound experience.
Music Theory Online: A Journal of Criticism, Commentary, Research, and Scholarship
Peer-reviewed, electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory, Inc.
1960-present; Rock's Backpages is a database of rock music writing, sourced from the pages of the music and mainstream press. Thousands of articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) for over 2,000 artists are available.
- Current Research in Jazz
Original jazz research that is informed by musical and historical knowledge.
- Journal of Jazz Studies
An open-access online journal published by the Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers.