Open Educational Resources (OER): A Guide for Faculty: New and Notable OERs

The materials found here are the results of funding through the ASCCC OERI project. Many of these are supplemental materials such as test banks or workbooks. 

"The first comprehensive, peer-reviewed open access textbook for biological anthropology courses. Produced with support from the Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges (a section of the American Anthropological Association) and a grant from Minnesota State." License: CC-BY-NC

OpenStax's intro text. Test bank, slides, and instructor manual available with free OpenStax account.

From Faculty at Taft College. License: CC-BY

"An OER text to cover world art on a timeline from prehistoric to modern times with an emphasis on female artists." Written by faculty at Evergreen Valley CC.

"Intended for undergraduates, this text provides “stand alone” coverage of basic, subsonic, aircraft performance preceded by an introduction to the basics of aerodynamics that will provide a background sufficient to the understanding of the subjects to be studied in aircraft performance."

"Business Law I Essentials is a brief introductory textbook designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of courses on Business Law or the Legal Environment of Business." License: CC-BY-NC-SA

"This OpenStax resource aligns to introductory courses in Organizational Behavior. The text presents the theory, concepts, and applications with particular emphasis on the impact that individuals and groups can have on organizational performance and culture." License: CC-BY

"Introduction to Business covers the scope and sequence of most introductory business courses. The book provides detailed explanations in the context of core themes such as customer satisfaction, ethics, entrepreneurship, global business, and managing change." License: CC-BY

"Business Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility." License: CC-BY

"This textbook is intended for use in introductory Entrepreneurship classes at the undergraduate level. Theoretical and practical aspects are presented in a balanced manner, and specific components such as the business plan are provided in multiple formats. Entrepreneurship aims to drive students toward active participation in entrepreneurial roles, and exposes them to a wide range of companies and scenarios." License: CC-BY

"Principles of Management is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the introductory course on management. This is a traditional approach to management using the leading, planning, organizing, and controlling approach. " License: CC-BY

Developed by faculty at the College of the Canyons. License: CC-BY

Written by faculty at College of the Canyons. License: CC-BY

"This text is a presentation of how and why children grow, develop, and learn. We will look at how we change physically over time from conception through adolescence. We examine cognitive change, or how our ability to think and remember changes over the first 20 years or so of life. And we will look at how our emotions, psychological state, and social relationships change throughout childhood and adolescence." License: CC-BY

Written by faculty at College of the Canyons. License: CC-BY

written specifically for the emerging child psychology student or early childhood educator in mind. Team members Doris Buckley, Deirdre Budzyna, Rick Lizotte, Marilyn Billings, and Sue Tashijan emphasized the field of early childhood education is constantly changing and it is important to include up to date research from a diverse variety of perspectives. This text gives an overview of development, providing students with a strong understanding of how young children develop in a way that is both comprehensive and concise. License: CC-BY-NC-SA

"OER text with emphasis on contemporary issues of social justice, race, gender and inclusion. Audio versions of each chapter of the textbook are embedded in the text." Written by faculty at City College of San Francisco.

"This OER is a revision of “Writing for Success” that includes instructional scaffolding for students who require additional support. New sections on college readiness and success, reading skills, the reading-writing connection, grammar, and an ESL compendium have been added." Created by faculty at City College of San Francisco.

"A culturally responsive OER text incorporating primary literary sources and explanatory materials that would also include ancillary materials such as assignments and essay prompts." Written by faculty at City College of San Francisco.

"'Writing Guide with Handbook' aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles."

"This text is a transformation of Successful College Composition an OER text originally published in 2015 and intended for use in a course that is one level below English composition."

"'It’s All Greek to Me!' has everything—entertaining stories, academic articles in a variety of disciplines, vocabulary crossover in literary and academic readings, connections to local, American, and Western culture, and plenty of chances for critical thinking for advanced students of English as a Second Language (ESL). All readings are authentic with minimal adaptation from a variety of sources. This textbook also gives help for advanced level grammar and writing issues, using outside sources, and reading and vocabulary strategies."

"This is an open-access lab manual for a historical geology lab focused on student observations. Through their teaching experiences, authors Jinny Sisson and Daniel Hauptvogel found that students have difficulty making observations and interpreting them. Perhaps this is a result of the plethora of standardized tests students must take throughout their primary school career nonetheless, it is a problem that we have observed. Their goal in creating the material for this lab manual is to focus heavily on students making observations of geologic data, whether that be rocks, minerals, fossils, maps, graphs, and other things. This resource is focused on helping students build effective observation and interpretation skills."

"A Student’s Guide to Tropical Marine Biology is written entirely by students enrolled in the Keene State College Tropical Marine Biology course taught by Dr. Karen Cangialosi.Our goal was to investigate three main aspects of tropical marine biology: understanding the system, identifying problems, and evaluating solutions." License: CC-BY-NC

"Introduction to Philosophy: Logic provides students with the concepts and skills necessary to identify and evaluate arguments effectively. The chapters, all written by experts in the field, provide an overview of what arguments are, the different types of arguments one can expect to encounter in both philosophy and everyday life, and how to recognise common argumentative mistakes."

"Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of Religion introduces some of the major traditional arguments for and against the existence of God, as well as some less well-known, but thought-provoking arguments for the existence of God, and one of the most important new challenges to religious belief from the Cognitive Science of Religion. An introductory chapter traces the connection between philosophy and religion throughout Western history, and a final chapter addresses the place of non-Western and non-monotheistic religions within contemporary philosophy of religion."

This OER covers aspects of photography and lens-based art by providing robust instruction on photo techniques through photo, video, and text for students to learn how to operate film cameras and understand the basic principles of the medium.

"Entrada libre is an intermediate/advanced college-level Spanish OER grammar manual for second language learners and heritage speakers of Spanish at the community college level."