Start your search with the ASCCC OER lists! These are books that have already been reviewed by CCC faculty.
There are several places you can get help with OER on campus:
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)The library has a wealth of online books, articles and videos. These resources can be linked or embedded into Canvas. You can find this material on our Databases A-Z site. For assistance finding and integrating resources appropriate for your class, contact Lori Cassidy, Instructional Design Librarian.
Resources, developer tools, and community
The California Open Online Library for Education (COOLforED) is provided through a partnership between the three State of California systems of higher education, including California Community Colleges and the California State University, and University of California systems.
Supporting a variety of disciplines and subject areas
New and improved website!
The CCC Community Hub is an Open Educational Resources (OER) network for collaboration among the California community college system. This hub came to be out of a demand for a localized repository with rich collaborating, sharing, and evaluation tools. All California Community Colleges have their own group inside the hub. There are also discipline hubs for the California community to work together on developing and supporting OER.
Provided by the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges Open Educational Resources Initiative (OERI)
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 84 different sources and contains 329,797 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
Links to OER collections of full courses, textbooks, or any instructional materials including images, videos, or documents associated with teaching and learning.
Open textbook repository
Explore this catalog of courses curated from open educational resources (OER) and supported for Santa Ana College by Lumen Learning. Contact Lumen Learning to integrate these courses into face-to-face and online teaching at Santa Ana College.
Open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats, across the disciplines, including CTE subjects.
Multimedia educational resources for learning and online teaching. You can limit to Creative Commons licensed materials within the "Licenses" menu options.
Open course content for a variety of subjects and disciplines
LibreCommons hosts curated Open Educational Resources from all 14 LibreTexts libraries in one convenient location.
Resources and media published under Creative Commons licenses
OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Open access books spanning the disciplines
Open access scientific and scholarly journals
OER from leading colleges and universities
Career oriented (CTE) open educational resources
Links to a variety of resources
Enter the ISBN of a book below to find related FREE open textbooks.
The Wisc-Online digital library contains over 2,500 learning objects that are freely accessible to teachers and students at no cost and with copyright clearance for use in any classroom or online application. Also provides online game builder templates.
Media file repository for public domain and freely-licensed educational media content
Open Repositories, collections, tools. books/textbooks, courses, learning modules, blogs, and articles
Resources, support, professorial development opportunities, and community
Links to several OER Repositories and collections
An open access resource for faculty and librarians
A free Library of source texts [including works of literature] which are in the public domain or legally available for free redistribution. Wikisource is an official project of the Wikimedia Foundation and a sister project of Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia.
"A syndicated radio show and podcast that broadcasts weekly across North America. We are a long-format interview show that explores the connections between science, popular culture, history, and public policy, to help listeners understand the evidence and arguments behind what's in the news and on the shelves." -http://www.scienceforthepeople.ca/about
Free and open digital library of Workforce Training Materials
The CalArts Library provides this list of freely accessible video streaming sites.
Most OER are licensed under Creative Commons. Creative Commons is a licensing system that allows you to grant certain rights to others, while retaining the copyright to your work. CC has several licenses, which are used for different purposes:
This license lets others distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation. This is the most accommodating of licenses offered. Recommended for maximum dissemination and use of licensed materials.
This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work even for commercial purposes, as long as they credit you and license their new creations under the identical terms.
This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, and although their new works must also acknowledge you and be non-commercial, they don’t have to license their derivative works on the same terms.
This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, as long as they credit you and license their new creations under the identical terms.
This license allows for redistribution, commercial and non-commercial, as long as it is passed along unchanged and in whole, with credit to you.
This license is the most restrictive of our six main licenses, only allowing others to download your works and share them with others as long as they credit you, but they can’t change them in any way or use them commercially.
This information is directly from Creative Commons.