LibGuides: Kinesiology Research: Home

Some important links to using the library:

OCC Library
OCC Discovery
This is where to go to search for books.
Databases A-Z
Use this link to search for magazine and scholarly articles.

Getting Help!

Ask a librarian for research help before you get frustrated! There are a few ways you can get help:

Reference Desk in the Library: The library is currently open Mondays and Tuesdays from 10am - 6pm. This is scheduled to change on Oct 1 to Monday - Thursday 10am - 6pm

Online Chat: Librarians are online Monday - Thursday 8am - 9pm, Fridays 8am- 3pm, and Saturdays 10am - 3pm. Look for the chat icon in the bottom right corner of the library webpages.

Research Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one appointment with a librarian to help you get started with your library research!

Recommended Databases for Kinesiology

Recommended Databases for Kinesiology Topics

Select one of the following databases to start searching for your topic. While each interface looks a little different, in each one you will be able to access and download the full text of the article and APA citation information.

Research Library This link opens in a new window "ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances."
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Featuring premier journal content from Elsevier, this database should be your first stop for science topics. Please note that not all content is available for free in full-text. Look for Full-Text Access or Open Access articles.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to more than 80 full text, consumer health magazines. This database also includes searchable full text for current, health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 health reference books. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 9,900 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
EBSCO Power Search This link opens in a new window This site will let you search all of the EBSCO databases at once, including Academic Search Ultimate, MasterFILE Complete, and more.

Image Credits

Photos adapted in this guides have Creative Commons licensing on Unsplash.com. Photo credits:

Before You Search
The Creative Exchange (girl reading)

Searching for Books
Thought Catalog (stack of books)

Identifying Scholarly Articles
Ali Shah Lakhani (magazines)

Searching for Articles
Marten Newhall (magnify glass)

Evaluating Websites
Gary Butterfield (becurious)

Why We Cite
Green Chameleon (writing at desk)