The Library subscribes to a great many databases; each of which contain articles from hundreds, if not thousands of journal titles. Most of the databases are included when you do a search a library catalog. Put in your search terms and picks "articles" from the drop-down menu.
A great way to search for articles in the library is by clicking on Databases A-Z in the library homepage menu. Some of our databases are very broad in the areas they cover, such as Academic Search Ultimate or Proquest Central. Most of the databases however have a narrower focus. They could focus on a particular format of resource, e.g. newspapers, videos, or ebooks. Or they could focus on a particular subject such as fashion, health, criminal just, and many others. From the A-Z list, you can choose one of our popular databases (listed on the right hand side), select a general database, or search for a specialized databases in your subject area.
If you are confused about what type of article is the most appropriate for your needs, check out our page, Scholarly Journals, Popular Magazines, & Trade Journals
The 3 databases below are great places to start any research project.
LibKey lets you search our articles using a DOI or PMID. What does this mean for you? If you have a citation of an article you want to read, you can use the DOI or PMID that is listed in the citation to find whether the OCC Library has access to the article and if so, what database it is located in and a direct link to the article.
LibKey Nomad takes connecting to articles available through the OCC Library even more simple. LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects you to articles from websites like Wikipedia, PubMed, and publishers websites. It will help you find whether OCC Library has the article and if so, will like you to the article.
The browser extension is for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Brave, and Vivaldi browsers.
The library subscribes to this service and the browser extension is safe to download.
Browzine gives you a whole new way to search for journals! If you want to discover...or browse...for journals within a specific subject area, Browzine is a great way to do that. Browzine then directly links to the articles.
Note: this resource does not search all periodicals within the OCC Library. It highlights our scholarly journals in particular.
Use the same login that you use for MyOCC, Canvas, and your OCC email to login to the library's online resources.
If you have trouble logging in, please email us, use the chat button below, or call us at 714-432-0202 when the library is open.