LibGuides: Sociology Research: Getting Started

Link to the OCC Library

Important links when searching the library:

OCC Library
OCC Discovery
This is where to go to search for books.
Databases A-Z
Use this link to search for magazine and scholarly articles.

Recommended Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR contains journal articles in various academic disciplines. Not all content is available full-text so it is recommended to choose the option of searching only content you have access to.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window This is a good place to start your research. Proquest Central has an ample amount of articles for most subjects. This database mostly has articles from magazines, newspapers, and journals.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window "Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology."
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window "Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources."
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window "Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime."