Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citation Guide (APA 7th Edition): Books, eBooks & Pamphlets

How Can I Tell if it's a Book in Print or an eBook?

A print book means it's printed on paper. If you checked the book out of a library or bought it from a bookstore, it's print.

An eBook is a book you can read entirely online.

Tips

Authors/Editors

An author can be a person but can also be an organization, or company. These are called group or corporate authors.

If you are citing a chapter from a book that has an editor, the author of the chapter is listed first, and is the name listed in the in-text citation.

Dates

The format of all dates for books is: (Year).  E.g. 2020.

Publishers

Use the name of the publisher.  You do not need to include the city in which the publisher is located. E.g. Routledge.

Titles

Capitalize the first word of the title and the subtitle.  The only other words that should be capitalized are pronouns.  Book titles are italicized.  E.g. Gone with the wind. 

If there is a colon (:) in the title, include what comes after the colon (also known as the subtitle).

Formatting

Note: For your Reference list, all citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.

A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.

Books without a DOI

This will include all print books and most ebooks from library databases. 

Book with One Author -- either in print or from library databases (Without a DOI)

Author's Last Name, First Initial. (Year of publication). Title of book: Subtitle if any (Edition, if given and is not first edition). Publisher Name. 

Reference List Example  

 Kirsh, S. J. (2006). Children, adolescents, and media violence: A critical look at the research. (2nd ed.). Sage. 

In-Text Citation Example

Parenthetical citation: 

 (Author's Last Name, Year)

 Example: (Kirsh, 2006)

Narrative citation: 

 Author's Last Name (Year) 

 Example: Kirsh (2006)

Book with Two Authors -- either in print or from library databases (Without a DOI)

Author's Last Name, First Initial., & Author's Last Name, First Initial. (Year of publication). Title of book: Subtitle if any (Edition, if given and is not first edition). Publisher Name. 

Reference List Example  

  Wykes, M., & Gunter, B. (2005). The media and body image: If looks could kill. Sage. 

In-Text Citation Example

Parenthetical Citation:  

(Author's Last Name & Author's Last Name, Year)

 Example: (Wykes & Gunter, 2005)

Narrative Citation:  

Author's Last Name and Author's Last Name (Year)

 Example: Wykes and Gunter (2005)

Book with Three or More Authors -- either in print or from library databases (Without a DOI)

Author's Last Name, First Initial.,  Author's Last Name, First Initial., &  Author's Last Name, First Initial. (Year of publication). Title of book: Subtitle if any (Edition, if given and is not first edition). Publisher Name. 

Reference List Example   Greig, A., Taylor, J., & MacKay, T. (2013). Doing research with children: A practical guide. Sage.

 

In-Text Citation Example

Parenthetical Citation: 

(First Author's Last Name et al., Year)

Example: (Greig et al., 2013)

Narrative Citation: 

First Author's Last Name et al. (Year)

Example: Greig et al. (2013)

eBook without a DOI, WITH a nondatabase URL

Author's Last Name, First Intial. (Year of publication). Title of book: Subtitle if any (Edition, if given and is not first edition). Publisher Name. URL. 

Reference List Example

  Henty, G. A. (1889).  The cat of Bubastes: A tale of ancient Egypt. Blackie and Son. babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015073478847

In-Text Citation Example

 (Author's Last Name, Year)

 Example: (Henty, 1889)

Books with a DOI

If a book has a DOI, it will be an ebook. However, not all ebooks have DOIs. 

eBook with One Author -- With a DOI

Author's Last Name, Initial. (Year of publication). Title of book: Subtitle if any (Edition, if given and is not first edition). Publisher Name. DOI 

 Note: For books with more than one author AND a DOI, follow the citation for a book without a DOI and the correct number of authors, and include the DOI after the publisher.

Reference List Example

  Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist therapy (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000092-00

In-Text Citation Example

Parenthetical Citation:  

(Author's Last Name, Year)

 Example: (Block, 2018)

Narrative Citation:  

Author's Last Name (Year)

 Example: Block (2018)

Other Types of Book Citations

 

Book with Editor (Whole Book)

Editor's Last Name, First Name, (Ed.). (Year of publication). Title of book: Subtitle if any (Edition if given and is not first edition). Publisher Name. 

 Reference List Example  

 Kirsh, S. J., (Ed.). (2006). Children, adolescents, and media violence: A critical look at the research (2nd ed.). Sage. 

In-Text Citation Example

 (Editor's Last Name, Year)

 Example: (Kirsh, 2006)

 

Note: This citation format should only be used if you are citing the entire book. Typically, you will only use one or two chapters from an edited collection. In this case, you should cite the chapter used, as shown in the Chapter From a Book with Editors (Anthology or Collection) example.

Note: If the book includes a DOI, include the DOI after the publication name. 

Chapter From a Book with Editors (Anthology or Collection)

Author's Last Name, First Initial. (Year of publication). Title of short story, essay, or article. In Editor's First Initial Last Name (Ed.), Title of Book: Subtitle if Any (Edition if given and is not first, page range (pp.)). Publisher Name. 

 Reference List Example  

  Ross, C. (2006). The story of grey owl. In G. Engkent & L. Engkent (Eds.), Fiction/non-fiction: A reader and rhetoric (2nd ed., pp. 327-333). Thomson Nelson. 

  Note: The first author's name listed is the author of the chapter/essay/short story.

  Note: If there is no editor given you may leave out that part of the citation.

In-Text Citation Example  

  (Author's Last Name, Year)

  Example: (Ross, 2006)

Book With a Group or Corporate Author

Name of Corporate Author. (Year of Publication). Title of book: Subtitle if any (Edition if given and is not first edition). Publisher Name.

 Note: When a work is published by an organization that is also its author, begin the entry with the title, skipping the author element, and list the organization only as publisher.

Reference List Example  

  Calgary Educational Partnership Foundation. (1996). Employability skills: Creating my future. Nelson. 

In-Text Citation Example  

  (Name of Corporate Author Page Number)

  Example: (Calgary Educational Partnership Foundation, 1996)