Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citation Guide (APA 7th Edition): Journal Articles

How Can I Tell if it's a Journal?

Journals on a shelf - photo from Flickr by the.Firebottle

Photo from Flickr under Creative Commons license, created by the.Firebottle

Not sure whether your article is from a journal? Look for these characteristics:

  • Main purpose is often to report results of original search
  • Articles usually have a very specific subject focus
  • May see sections such as abstract, discussion, results, and conclusion
  • Author of the article is an expert or specialist in the field and often their credentials are listed
  • Article is intended for students, scientists, researchers and/or professionals instead of the general public
  • Usually includes a References list at the end

Articles may also come from magazines or newspapers.

What is a DOI?

DOI Numbers for Journal Articles

Some electronic content like journal articles are assigned a unique number called a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). The DOI gives a way to find an article. If a DOI is provided for a journal article, include it after the page numbers of the article as "doi:doi number". 

If no DOI number is given, OCC Library recommends that you use the database name as opposed to the URL for an entry. This is to avoid difficulties with links.

If you have a DOI and would like to look up an item with it, click here and enter the doi number where indicated.

Basic Format for Periodical References

AUTHOR DATE TITLE PERIODI-
CAL 
INFO
DOI or
URL

Author, A. A.

Author, A.A. & Author, B.B.

Name of Group.

Author, C.C. [username]

Username. 

(2020).

(2020, January).

(2020, February 5).

Title of article.

Title of Periodical, vol(iss), pages.

Title of Periodical, vol(iss), Article #.

Title of Periodical.

 

https://doi.org/
xxxx

https://xxx

 

Formatting

Note: For your Reference list, all citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.

A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.

Tips

Authors/Editors

An author can be a person but can also be an organization, or company. These are called group or corporate authors.

Database Names

The name of the database will usually appear at the top of the search screen. Note that ProQuest and EBSCOhost are NOT database names, they are database providers. The name of the database will appear separately.

If you have used the function to search multiple databases at once and therefore do not know the individual database name, enter the name of the database provider (e.g. ProQuest) as the database.

Dates

The standard format for dates is: Year. 

Page Numbers

Include the page range (the page the article starts and ends on) of the journal article. Do not include "p." or "pp." in front of the page range.  e.g. 27-45.  

Titles

Only capitalize the first letter of the title and subtitle.

If there is a colon (:) in the title, include what comes after the colon (also known as the subtitle).

 

Journal Articles With a DOI

Journal Article From Library Database With a DOI Number - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. (Date of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of JournalVolume Number,(Issue), First Page Number-Last Page Number. doi:DOI number.

Reference List Example

Guillen, J. (2016). Does financial openness matter in the relationship between financial development and income distribution in Latin America? Emerging Markets Finance & Trade, 52(5), 145-1155. doi:10.1080/1540496X.2015.1046337

In-Text Citation Example

Parenthetical:

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Guillen, 2016)

Narrative: 

Author's Last Name (Year)

Example: Guillen (2016)

Journal Article From Library Database With a DOI - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, Initials., & Second Author's Last Name, Initials. (Date of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), First Page Number-Last Page Number. doi:DOI number

  Note: Both authors listed appear in "Last Name, A. A." format. Authors' names are separated by a comma, and an ampersand (&) before the second author's name.

Reference List Example

Salafia, E. B., & Lemer, J. (2012) Associations between multiple types of stress and disordered eating among girls and boys in middle school. Journal of Child and Family Studies, 21(1), 148-157. doi:10.1007/s10826-011-9458-z

In-Text Citation Example

Parenthetical:

(First Author's Last Name & Second Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Salafia & Lemer, 2012)

Narrative: 

First Author's Last Name & Second Author's Last Name (Year)

Example: Salafia & Lemer (2012)

Journal Articles in Print or Without a DOI

Journal Article in Print or Without a DOI Number - One Author

Author's Last Name, Initials. (Date of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database.

Reference List Example

Leichty, T. (2012). Yes I worry about my weight... but for the most part I'm content with my body: Older women's body dissatisfaction alongside contentment. Journal of Women & Aging, 24(1), 70-88. Academic Search Premier. 

In-Text Citation Example

Parenthetical:

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Leichty, 2012)

Narrative: 

Author's Last Name (Year)

Example: Leichty (2012)

 Note: While APA 7th edition recommends not including database names or URLs for journals without DOIs, OCC Library recommends including database names so that your instructors can more easily identify where your sources can be located. 

 Note: If you are citing an article from a print journal, use the same format but do NOT include a library database title.

Journal Article in Print or Without a DOI - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, Intials., & Second Author's Last Name, Initials. (Date of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database. 

Note: Both authors listed appear in "Last Name, A. A." format. Authors' names are separated by a comma and an ampersand (&) before the second author's name.

Reference List Example

Larr, A.S., & Neidell, M. (2016). Pollution and climate change. The Future of children, 26(1), 93-113. Academic Search Ultimate

In-Text Citation Example

Parenthetical:

(First Author's Last Name & Second Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Larr & Neidell, 2016)

Narrative: 

First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name (Year)

Example: Larr & Neidell (2016)

  Note: While APA 7th edition recommends not including database names or URLs for journals without DOIs, OCC Library recommends including database names so that your instructors can more easily identify where your sources can be located. 

 Note: If you are citing an article from a print journal, use the same format but do NOT include a library database title. 

Journal Article from a Website

Journal Article From a Website - One Author

Author's Last Name, Initials. (Date of publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), First Page Number- Last Page Number. URL 

Reference List Example

Elson, P.  (2015). A comparative analysis of nonprofit policy network governance in Canada." Canadian Journal of Nonprofit and Social Economy Research, 6(2), 42-64. anserj.ca/anser/ index.php/cjnser/article/view/201/127

In-Text Citation Example

Parenthetical:

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Elson, 2015)

Narrative: 

Author's Last Name (Year)

Example: Elson (2015)

In-Text Citations for Three or More Authors

Journal Article From a Website - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, Initials., & Second Author's Last Name, Initials. (Date of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), First Page Number- Last Page Number. URL.

Reference List Example

Sadig, H., & Banany, A. (2014). The impact of non-response weighting: Empirical evidence from modelling residential mobility." Journal of Social Research & Policy, 5(1), 91-99. www.jsrp.ro/site/jrspone/content/JSRP_Vol5_Iss1_Sadig

In-Text Citation Example

Parenthetical:

(First Author's Last Name & Second Author's Last Name, Year)

(Sadig & Banany, 2014)

Narrative: 

First Author's Last Name & Second Author's Last Name (Year)

Sadig & Banany (2014)

In-Text Citation For Three or More Authors/Editors

Number of Authors/Editors In-Text Citation Example
Three or more

 (Author's Last Name et al., Year)**

 Example: (Case et al., 2015)

 Note: For all in-text citations with three or more authors, include the name of only the first author plus "et al." in every citation, unless doing so would create ambiguity (for example, if you were using more than one source by the same first author, and those works had more than 3 authors).