Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Manual of Style Guide (Chicago 17th Edition): Articles

Example of Notes and Bibliography for Articles

Note: Formatting of multiple authors follows the same format as books. 


Examples for Notes & Bibliography for Journal Articles

Journal Article: Print

Note

1. Gustavo A. Rodríguez Martín, “Shaw by the Numbers,” Shaw 33, no. 1 (2013): 176–202.

Bibliography

Martín, Gustavo A. Rodríguez. “Shaw by the Numbers.” Shaw 33, no. 1 (2013): 176–202.


Journal Article: Electronic with DOI*

Note

1. Linda Chelan Li, “Multiple Trajectories and ‘Good Governance’ in Asia: An Introduction,” Journal of Contemporary Asia 44, no. 2 (2014): 187–203, https://doi.org/10.1080/00472336.2013.870827.

Bibliography

Li, Linda Chelan. “Multiple Trajectories and ‘Good Governance’ in Asia: An Introduction.” Journal of Contemporary Asia 44, no. 2 (2014): 187–203. https://doi.org/10.1080/00472336.2013.870827.


Journal Article: Electronic without DOI

Note

1. Mairead Greene and Paula Shorter, “Building Conceptual Understanding in Precalculus,” Transformative Dialogues: Teaching & Learning Journal 6, no. 2 (2012): 1–16.

Bibliography

Greene, Mairead, and Paula Shorter. “Building Conceptual Understanding in Precalculus.” Transformative Dialogues: Teaching & Learning Journal 6, no. 2 (2012): 1–16, http://www.kpu.ca/sites/default/files/TD.6.2.2_Greene%26Shorter_Conceptual_Understanding_in_Precalculus.pdf.

*DOI stands for Digital Object Identifier


 

Examples for Notes & Bibliography for Magazine Articles

Magazine: Print

Note

1. Adam Fiore, “The Master Code,” Popular Science 284, no. 5 (May 2014): 54–84.

Bibliography

Fiore, Adam. “The Master Code.” Popular Science 284, no. 5 (May 2014): 54–84.


Magazine: Electronic

Note

1. Paul Sarconi, “OK, House. Get Smart: Make the Most of Your AI Home Minions,” WIRED, May 16, 2017, https://www.wired.com/2017/06/guide-to-ai-artificial-intelligence-at-home/.

Bibliography

Sarconi, Paul. “OK, House. Get Smart: Make the Most of Your AI Home Minions.” WIRED, May 16, 2017. https://www.wired.com/2017/06/guide-to-ai-artificial-intelligence-at-home/.

 

Examples for Notes & Bibliography for Newspaper Articles


Newspaper

Note

1. Jeff Stibel, “The Internet Is Changing Us, but It’s Not All Bad,” USA Today, February 17, 2018, sec. Money.

Bibliography

Stibel, Jeff. “The Internet Is Changing Us, but It’s Not All Bad.” USA Today, February 17, 2018, sec. Money.


Newspaper: No Author

Note

1. “MLB Appears Close to New Drug Agreement,” The Washington Post, March 26, 2014, sec. Sports.

Bibliography

“MLB Appears Close to New Drug Agreement.” The Washington Post, March 26, 2014, sec. Sports.


Newspaper: Electronic

Note

1. Jennifer Delgado, “Work to Begin on Grant Park Skate Park,” Chicago Tribune, June 2, 2014, http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2014-06-02/news/ct-grant-park-new-skate-park-met-20140602_1_skate-park-tif-funds-grant-park-conservancy.

Bibliography

Delgado, Jennifer. “Work to Begin on Grant Park Skate Park.” Chicago Tribune, June 2, 2014. http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2014-06-02/news/ct-grant-park-new-skate-park-met-20140602_1_skate-park-tif-funds-grant-park-conservancy.