Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Manual of Style Guide (Chicago 17th Edition): Books

Examples of Notes and Bibliography for Print Books and eBooks

Examples of Notes and Bibliography for Print Books

Book: One Author

Note

1. Edward LeRoy McCord, The Value of Species (New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2012).

Bibliography

McCord, Edward LeRoy. The Value of Species. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2012.


Book: Two Authors

Note

1. Leonard C. Green and Paul B. Brown, The Entrepreneur’s Playbook: More than 100 Proven Strategies, Tips, and Techniques to Build a Radically Successful Business (New York: AMACOM, 2017).

Bibliography

Green, Leonard C., and Paul B. Brown. The Entrepreneur’s Playbook: More than 100 Proven Strategies, Tips, and Techniques to Build a Radically Successful Business. New York: AMACOM, 2017.


Book: Three Authors

Note

1. Pamela Wilcox, Francis T. Cullen, and Ben Feldmeyer, Communities and Crime: An Enduring American Challenge (Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2018).

Bibliography

Wilcox, Pamela, Francis T. Cullen, and Ben Feldmeyer. Communities and Crime: An Enduring American Challenge. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2018.


Book: Four or More Authors

Note

1. Douglas Fisher et al., Engagement by Design: Creating Learning Environments Where Students Thrive (Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin Literacy, 2018).

Bibliography

Fisher, Douglas, Nancy Frey, Russell J. Quaglia, Dominique Smith, and Lisa L. Lande. Engagement by Design: Creating Learning Environments Where Students Thrive. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin Literacy, 2018.


Book: Edited or Compiled

Formatting of multiple authors is the same a book..

Note

1. Strauss, Sarah, Stephanie Rupp, and Thomas F. Love, eds., Cultures of Energy Power, Practices, Technologies (Walnut Creek, CA: Left Coast Press, 2013).

Bibliography

Strauss, Sarah, Stephanie Rupp, and Thomas F. Love, eds. Cultures of Energy Power, Practices, Technologies. Walnut Creek, CA: Left Coast Press, 2013.


Book: Edition Other Than The First

Formatting of multiple authors is the same a book.

Wording for editions such as Second, Revised, and Enlarged are abbreviated in both the notes and bibliography: 2nd ed.; rev. ed.; etc. Consult Chapter 10 of the style manual for the full list.

Note

1. John C. Cavanaugh and Fredda Blanchard-Fields, Adult Development and Aging, 8th ed. (Boston, MA: Wadsworth Publishing, 2018).

Bibliography

Cavanaugh, John C., and Fredda Blanchard-Fields. Adult Development and Aging. 8th ed. Boston, MA: Wadsworth Publishing, 2018.


Book: Chapter in an Edited Book

Formatting of multiple authors is the same a book.

Note

1. Laurie Anne Pearlman. “Moral Dimensions of Trauma Therapies,” in The Social Psychology of Morality: Exploring the Causes of Good and Evil, ed. Mario Mikulincer and Phillip R. Shaver (Washington, D.C: American Psychological Association, 2012), 311–28.

Bibliography

Pearlman, Laurie Anne. “Moral Dimensions of Trauma Therapies.” In The Social Psychology of Morality: Exploring the Causes of Good and Evil, edited by Mario Mikulincer and Phillip R. Shaver, 311–28. Washington, D.C: American Psychological Association, 2012.


 

Examples of Notes and Bibliography for eBooks

eBook

Formatting of multiple authors is the same a book.

Note

1. Scott K. Edinger and Laurie Sain, The Hidden Leader : Discover and Develop Greatness within Your Company (New York: AMACOM, 2015), https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ilstu/detail.action?docID=1711864.

Bibliography

Edinger, Scott K., and Laurie Sain. The Hidden Leader : Discover and Develop Greatness within Your Company. New York: AMACOM, 2015. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ilstu/detail.action?docID=1711864.


eBook: Edited or Compiled

Formatting of multiple authors is the same a book.

Note

1. Jonathan Skinner and Lee Jolliffe, eds., Murals and Tourism: Heritage, Politics and Identity (Florence: Taylor and Francis, 2017), https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ilstu/detail.action?docID=4865852.

Bibliography

Skinner, Jonathan, and Lee Jolliffe, eds. Murals and Tourism: Heritage, Politics and Identity. Florence: Taylor and Francis, 2017. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ilstu/detail.action?docID=4865852.


eBook: Edition Other Than The First

Formatting of multiple authors is the same a book.

Note

1. Gayle Roux and Judith A Halstead, Issues and Trends in Nursing: Practice, Policy, and Leadership, Second edition (Burlington, MA: Jones & Bartlett Learning, LLC, 2018), https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ilstu/detail.action?docID=4838489.

Bibliography

Roux, Gayle, and Judith A Halstead. Issues and Trends in Nursing: Practice, Policy, and Leadership. Second edition. Burlington, MA: Jones & Bartlett Learning, LLC, 2018. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ilstu/detail.action?docID=4838489.


eBook: Chapter in an Edited Book

Formatting of multiple authors is the same a book.

Note

1. Farzin Nadimi. “The Role of Oil in the Outcome of the Iran–Iraq War: Some Important Lessons in Historical Context,” in The Iran-Iraq War New International Perspectives, ed. Nigel Ashton and Bryan Gibson, (New York: Routledge, 2013), 77–91, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ilstu/detail.action?docID=1097796.

Bibliography

Nadimi, Farzin. “The Role of Oil in the Outcome of the Iran–Iraq War: Some Important Lessons in Historical Context.” In The Iran-Iraq War New International Perspectives, edited by Nigel Ashton and Bryan Gibson, 77–91. New York: Routledge, 2013. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ilstu/detail.action?docID=1097796.