Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Manual of Style Guide (Chicago 17th Edition): Other Sources

Note

Note: Formatting of multiple authors follows the same format as books.

Examples of Notes and References for Other Sources

Encyclopedia Entry

Note

1. David Levinson and Gertrud Pfister, eds., “Yachting,” Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport (Great Barrington, Massachusetts: Berkshire Publishing Group, 2013).

Reference

Levinson, David, and Gertrud Pfister, eds. “Yachting.” Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport. Great Barrington, Massachusetts: Berkshire Publishing Group, 2013.


Encyclopedia Entry: Electronic

Note

1. Jeffrey Ian Ross, ed., “Hooliganism,” Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 2013), http://www.ilstu.eblib.com/EBLWeb/patron/?target=patron&extendedid=P_1207759_0.

Reference

Ross, Jeffrey Ian, ed. “Hooliganism.” Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 2013. http://www.ilstu.eblib.com/EBLWeb/patron/?target=patron&extendedid=P_1207759_0.


Government Publication

Note

1. Hayden Stewart et al., The Cost of Satisfying Fruit and Vegetable Recommendations in the Dietary Guidelines, Economic Brief, Number 27 (Washington, D.C.: United States Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 2016), http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo69773.

Reference

Stewart, Hayden, Jeffrey Hyman, Andrea Carlson, and Elizabeth Frazão. The Cost of Satisfying Fruit and Vegetable Recommendations in the Dietary Guidelines. Economic Brief, Number 27. Washington, D.C.: United States Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 2016. http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo69773.


Interview

Note: These are not included in the Bibliography and only included in the Notes. Published interviews should be cited based on the delivery format (e.g. Vital Speeches of the Day is a magazine; 60 Minutes is a television broadcast, etc.)

Note

1. John Adams, in discussion with the author, May 4, 2014.


Personal Communication

Note: Personal communication is any form of communication with you and the author/creator. This can be in the form a text, phone call, Skype session, direct message, etc. These are not included in the Bibliography and only included in the Notes.

Note

1. John Adams, in discussion with the author, May 4, 2014.


Report

Note

1. Susan White and Rachel Ivie, “Number of Women in Physics Departments: A Simulation Analysis. Report” (College Park, MD: Statistical Research Center of the American Institute of Physics, July 1, 2013), https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED547644.pdf.

Reference

White, Susan, and Rachel Ivie. “Number of Women in Physics Departments: A Simulation Analysis. Report.” College Park, MD: Statistical Research Center of the American Institute of Physics, July 1, 2013. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED547644.pdf.


Thesis / Dissertation

Note

1. Christopher K. Hagen, “We’ve Been Here : Possibilities for Prolonging Experiential Intimacy in Art” (Illinois State University, 2016), http://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/etd/504.

Reference

Hagen, Christopher K. “We’ve Been Here : Possibilities for Prolonging Experiential Intimacy in Art.” Masters of Fine Arts, Illinois State University, 2016. http://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/etd/504.